Flight School with Jennifer Lauck
Flight School Podcast
Flying Lesson #3 ~ Pt. 2
0:00
-3:11

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Flight School with Jennifer Lauck

Flying Lesson #3 ~ Pt. 2

Error of Exposition Revealed
2

When you are a teacher, there is an expectation that you “know it all.”

😂 🤣 😂

(Falling off chair, getting up, dusting self off…)

When you really think about this, you know that expectation is rather ridiculous and likely one of those spill-overs from childhood when we thought the grown-ups, our parents in particular, knew more than they did. When we grew up, we realized our parents were foolish and idiotic at times.

A good teacher is one who says, “This is what I’ve pulled together as far as knowledge about this topic. This is what I’ve tried and tested for myself. And, this is what does and doesn’t work.” A better teacher adds, “And, I could be wrong.” And the best teacher points out they make mistakes all the time and explains why.

Now…I’m not trying to pump myself up but I don’t teach as much as I bushwhack a trail a few paces ahead of those who study with me. I am here to help clear the debris but also to be “in it” with you. It’s not fun to think you’re way down there and your teacher is way up here. What was that fool adage over the last couple years? “We’re all in this together?” Well, while I don’t for a moment believe that when it came to the fiasco of Covid—or the current economic robbery of people trying to make a living and feed their kids (and babies) while the fat cats get fatter—but I do believe it when it comes to being a writer and mentoring writers.

We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.

~Ernest Hemingway, The Wild Years

So let’s get to it!

Paid subscribers, read on with my thanks.

Everyone else, please consider upgrading. The benefits are worth it, plus there’s my undying gratitude! 🤗

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Flight School with Jennifer Lauck to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Flight School with Jennifer Lauck
Flight School Podcast
A safe haven for those writing from life
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jennifer Lauck