Flight School with Jennifer Lauck
Flight School Podcast
Flying Lesson #1 ~ Pt. 4
4
--:--
--:--

Flying Lesson #1 ~ Pt. 4

Exclusive Writing Lab: An Exercise
4

Welcome back:

I wrote this loooooong commentary to set up the exercise (below) but it bugged me all week. I’ve written, re-written, cut, started again, and couldn’t hit the note I was after. Which was odd. I’m usually off to the races here at Flight School. But fine. Something was “off.”

Since I write and then publish these posts so quickly, the rule is that I trust my gut. If something bugs me, I stop, and let things percolate. This is also unusual. When I feel this way with my creative work, I push myself like an oafish farmer pushing a work-horse. And then, eventually, I simply collapse.

Not here though. Here, I want to give my very best and I want to feel great about whatever that might be. So, while the commentary simmers on the back burner like a good stock taking on the complexity of the onions, carrots, squash, celery, parsnips, and all those terrific bones, I’m going to go directly to the exercise first and save the commentary/explanation for next week.

Here goes…

✈️ Flying Lesson # 1 ~ Assignment 3: 

This is a free-write:

  • You are hanging out with God, or the Goddess, or Buddha, or Tara, or Mary, or Shiva, or one of your angels, or some other being of great wisdom. Nelson Mandela. Martin Luther King Jr. Toni Morrison. The point is that they are on the other side. And they are crazy wise.

Who is your wisdom elder?
  • You are about to be born and totally stoked! You get to have another life because, well, the last one kind of sucked and you want to give it another shot.

  • Only wait. Before you go into this terrific new life you cannot wait to live…what are the lessons you’ll need? I mean, why go to all the trouble of conception, birth, colic, teething, learning to talk, learning to write your 2’s and 3’s and the alphabet, and dealing with siblings, and well, all the beautiful mayhem of life if you aren’t going to learn a few things? If you aren’t going to grow? Evolve?

  • With this wise guide at your side, ask what your life will be about then? What do you need to learn? How will you learn? What scenarios will you need? What challenges and obstacles will have to present themselves?

See what comes up. Or maybe, imagine that this life you’re living now is the product of that conversation you had before you were born.

Imagine, for a moment, something in you chose all of it.

Every single moment.

~ Jennifer ❤️

4 Comments
Flight School with Jennifer Lauck
Flight School Podcast
A safe haven for those writing from life
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jennifer Lauck